MUSIC CITY : The first collaborative Music Database

Contact Us




Red Queen to.../Raindance

Red Queen to.../Raindance Tracks
1. Openening Move
2. Second Spasm
3. Lament
4. Checkmate
5. Down The Dog
6. Raindance
7. Heldenleben (Ein Klein)
8. Mother Nature's Son
9. Le Cambrioleur Est Dans Le Mouchoir
10. Ornolu
11. Fontinental Version
12. Wallbanger
13. Don't Say Go
Gryphon - Red Queen to.../Raindance
Red Queen to.../Raindance Review
1997 two-on-one reissue from Castle of their third & fourthalbums, originally released on Transatlantic in 1974 & 1975,respectively. Released during their heyday as the openingband for Yes' tour, each features the original line up ofRichard Harvey, Brian Gulland, Graeme Taylor and DavidOberle & are ideal for fans of 'medieval' rock acts likeGentle Giant. 13 tracks total, including 'Opening Move' and'Down The Dog'. The full titles are 'Red Queen To GryphonThree' and 'Raindance'.

Users's Reviews
Feel free to add your comments about Red Queen to.../Raindance
To music fan from Oregon....
Your review of Red Queen to Gryphon 3 suggests that you possibly have no musical background whatsoever, or you would have more appreciation for the talents displayed on this *classic* gemstone. Perhaps it is the fact that there is more "classical" and not as much "rock" in this makes it harder to palate it, but there is more talent in Richard Harvey's left pinky than in most "prog-rocl" bands en toto. 'Nuff said.
Posted by Anonymous, on 2001-12-12
A rare perfect marriage of rock with classical music
In the 70s, progressive rockers kept trying to combine classical music with rock. Remember ELP's "Pictures at an Exhibition"? These attempts were mostly dismal failures, because it was nearly impossible for rock musicians to duplicate the big sound of an orchestra without sounding pompous. On this album, the obscure group Gryphon had greater success by using a chamber music approach instead. For what it's worth, they also managed the best use of bassoon you're ever likely to hear in a rock context.

This is a gorgeous, though wildly uncommercial, album. Four instrumentals, each 8 to 11 minutes in length (in later albums, commercial considerations forced them to add vocals). Each musician's contribution can be clearly heard in the mix at all times. Much of the music has a timeless feel, perhaps due to the background in medieval music of recorder/keyboard player Richard Harvey and bassoonist Brian Gulland (on "Second Spasm", they share a brief passage on archaic krumhorns). Gulland and guitarist Graeme Taylor had a hand in writing all the pieces, and also share the bulk of the lead melodies. The entire album is strong, with "Lament" a particular highlight.

Posted by Anonymous, on 2002-02-06
Best instrumental rock album EVER!
Quite simply, this is the best instrumental album of classical/progressive rock ever released. "Lament" is gorgeous, sad & chilling, "Opening Move" & "Second Spasm" are playful & Xciting, only "Checkmate" lets up at all & it's still well above average. Why these guys didn't become world famous back in 1974 I don't know, but this album will change your life! Get it!
Posted by Anonymous, on 2003-02-25